THROSBY: ALP’s Stephen Jones wins

Throsby candidates: Stephen Jones for the ALP and Juliet Arkwright for the Liberal Party Newly-elected ALP MP Stephen Jones with his wife Julia Quilter celebrate at the Illawarra Yacht Club. Picture: ROBERT PEET
Nanjing Night Net

Union official Stephen Jones will be among the new chums in Federal Parliament after winning the seat of Throsby tonight for Labor.Mr Jones is at the Lake Illawarra Yacht Club where he has just declared victory. PHOTO GALLERY: The Illawarra decidesWhile admitting there was a degree of arrogance in declaring before 50 per cent of the vote had been counted, Mr Jones said he had elected to put wind-wearied volunteers out of their misery. Addressing a crowd of around 100 ALP volunteers and devotees at the Illawarra Yacht Club tonight, Mr Jones praised retiring member Jennie George for passing on such a solid foundation. ‘‘As I’ve gone out around the place I’ll tell you its been a lot easier for me to say I’m Stephen Jones and I represent the Labor Party when you’re immediate predecessor has been Jennie George,’’ he said. ‘‘She has done such a fantastic job, been a fantastic community representative, a great advocate for Labor and Labor values.’’With over 70 per cent of the vote counted at 9pm, Mr Jones triumphed with 51 per cent of first preferences.Liberal candidate Juliet Arkwright took a notable 30 per cent of first preferences while Peter Moran of the Greens claimed close to 12 per cent.On a two-party preferred basis, Labor has taken 67 per cent of the vote with the Liberal Party taking 33 per cent.Mr Jones replaces the retiring Jennie George, a former president of the ACTU.Throsby lost some working class areas to the seat of Gilmore in a redistribution. COMMENT: NSW voters punish LaborTHROSBY: THE STATSUpdated: 10pmCounted: 54 of 54 booths (83.5% of votes)Primary votes:ALP 51.15%Libs 29.85%Greens 11.75%Nationals 5.42%Two-party preferred:ALP 60.85%Libs 39.15%

This story Administrator ready to work first appeared on Nanjing Night Net.

Comments are closed.